World Smoking News 14/06/2012

Greetings peoples….Don’t these look yummy!!

Wonder if they have tobacco flavoured?? I am JOKING!!  But there are some very weird and almost pretentious flavours out there now that chefs/bakers make up or combine so people think they are ‘out there’ on the cutting edge of culinary creativity!! Yep, whatever!

Something scrummy-……..

A great day!! I have a new job………yippee!!

That makes things LESS stressful, I tell you.

Today’s interesting snippets……

Northland man (NZ) fined for making tobacco.

http://www.northernadvocate.co.nz/news/northlander-fined-for-making-tobacco/1415387/

The sperm story from yesterday is VERY popular and in many papers so for you lot that missed it yesterday, here it is again from another paper:

Drinking, smoking and obesity does not affect sperm count:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home/science/Smoking-drinking-does-not-affect-sperm-quality/articleshow/14113259.cms

New York State University to ban all smoking from 2014: (Hmm, Auckland University started that last year I think, no smoking on Uni premises)

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2012/06/13/state-university-of-new-york-to-ban-smoking-on-all-campuses-starting-in-2014/

York Housing announces ban on smokers :

http://www.yorkdispatch.com/ci_20841373/york-housing-authority-announces-smoking-ban?

Hope you are all having a GREAT SMOKE FREE DAY!!

STAY STRONG AND SMOKE FREE!!

Grrrrr…..Guilt and Shame!!

Err who doesn’t know these guys?? Guilt and shame, stomp, stomp, stomp!

And they are hard to get rid of too!!

Bloody hell, this is what happens when you think too much too early in the morning!!

What , you may ask has brought this on?

Well…………..

Hard life, as you can see!!

Hmm, just looking!!

In the sun

Yes, I know, you are thinking she has gone mad!! But no, I haven’t I promise.

As you can see, it is a HARD HARD life for our cats. This morning I was reading Simon Daubney’s “Stop Smoking” book and it said what about your pets and secondhand smoke? You know, I had NEVER EVER even given it a thought when i smoked. NEVER EVER. Believe me, these cats are considered A LOT!! I have told hubby to sleep on the couch rather than move the cats from his side of the bed:) and i gladly share my steak with them and will sit for hours while they sit on my knee and not move so i don’t disturb them!

Can you now see why I feel guilty? I think that many of you will say the same thing. I love those rat bags to bits and i just never considered them. You know i used to smoke outside , I NEVER EVER SMOKED INSIDE ONCE I HAD KIDS!! but i never thought of my fluffsters!!

 I will need to compensate, believe me. They have been giving me the cat evils all morning, no matter that two of them we did not have when I smoked:) (4+ years ago now) but I feel, I will need to compensate. There will be NO possibility of sitting near the heater in the near future or any heat source for that matter. Not that I get a look in now!! there may even be extra cat treats and pats and steak involved as well.

Birds too are especially sensitive to smoke and i have birds too!! I knew this but I didn’t if that makes sense. i never smoked inside but I am sure sometimes the smoke drifted in near them 😦

So bear this mind, if you smoke and have pets!! For some of us, it may help give us that nudge to stop smoking.

Have a Great SMOKE FREE DAY!!

Be strong, you CAN DO IT!!

Stop Smoking :The Essential Guide:

By Simon Daubney.

This book is part of the Need2Know series.

It is a nice slim book (which i always like) which is a round-up of how you can stop smoking.The author is a nurse who has/ does work with smoking cessation patients. This is always a good thing. Simon used to be a smoker as well, so not only is he qualified medically but he truly knows what the experience is like.  I have to say that one of the reasons I love Allan Carr, is that he smoked and I truly felt he felt my pain so to speak:). I am not saying the author needs to smoke or have smoked but to me I relate to them better. I do though like this book because the author states HOW HARD it is to stop and he is not saying it in a negative way but a realistic manner. That was one of my only grumbles with Allan Carr and many of these smoking books, is they say “its easy”. It bloody isn’t.

There is a good mix of straight talking but not matey and facts in the book, but not too many so you think, “God, does he think I am thick and don’t know that?”

Plus I love that he states this

“Smoking is said to be one of the hardest things to give up once you have started. Even Heroin addicts have reported that smoking is harder to give up than Heroin.

This is a well-known fact but smokers need to remember it when they castigate themselves for not stopping. This book helps you to understand your addiction and explores why you smoke and looks at methods to stop, weight maintenance, stop smoking organisations and how to stay quit!! There is even a section for loved ones to help support the quitter!!

Will this help you stop? No, I don’t think so BUT I think it is a very good contemplation/ first steps book and a good guide to further resources and how to go about stopping and making sure you have all the ducks in a row so to speak.

Big thumbs up on this one for a great starter guide to stopping!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.need2knowbooks.co.uk/stop-smoking-the-essential-guide/