Breathe, Freedom:Kevin Alderson:

A Comprehensive and hypnotic approach to quitting smoking.

 I need to say this straight off. I don’t like this book BUT this doesn’t mean it will not help you. People don’t like cold turkey but I did, you may not like hypnotherapy but your friend may. Consider the book if you are looking to stop because until you look at many methods, you may not find what is right for you.This is why there are so many stop smoking books because we all need different methods.

I know this sounds weird but the book is just creepy. It is too find your inner light touchy feely for me. BUT like, I said, it may work for you. Me, I like straight up, no bullshit looking at your inner child crap or stupid mind games because the smokes play enough tricks as it is!!

It is a nice thin book (which I like, as you know) and the Author is a Psychologist with many credentials which he states very early on BUT as I have said before you can have qualifications coming out your razoo but unless you can get there on a level with the smokers or addicts, and really relate to what it’s all about (not just what theory tells you) what good does all the paper do you? It claims a 50% success rate but like with all stats, I am skeptical until I see how those figures were gathered.

The book starts with a lot of stats and references which put me off straight away as we know that, smokers aren’t dumb!! We want methods that will help us stop. Too many people have proven that scaring smokers doesn’t work for, smokers just bury their heads in the ashtray and ignore it. Most of the book is a story about a boy called Freedom who was bullied, joined a gang and smoked and then broke through of the evil weed through his martial arts Sensei. All through out this prose is embedded self-hypnosis suggestions to help you quit.

I thought “Whatever’ yep, like I can relate to that”. Some people may find this book helpful but for me personally it’s just creepy and let’s get in touch with your inner self type hoopla, which for me personally doesn;t sit well with stop smoking.I found the tone in the book patronising , I didn’t like that it was told in a story form,as if you were too stupid to understand the higher message in any other way.  I don’t need to hear the tale of some boy who started smoking and how he learned his life lessons to give up smoking.The saying “Keep it simple, stupid”, is so appropriate in many things and I think stopping methods is one of them.

The last third of the book goes over the Breathe freedom smoking plan with you which mainly consists of self-hypnosis and abdominal breathing exercises and a few other lists to do,  like what you will if you get urges!! Probably think of the boy Freedom in the story?? I would need self-hypnosis to think that book could help me stop 😦

What did I like about it? Nothing, sorry, I lie. The end , that’s what I liked. It was rubbish.

Big Thumbs DOWN…

Have a GREAT SMOKE FREE DAY AND STAY STRONG!!

Leave a Reply

