What Not to Wear in Rome as a Tourist

bit of a laugh from a blog I follow!! Glad i am a kiwi!~! ha ha…even we can pick out the yanks!!

Un'americana a Roma

Affectionately subtitled: Super Sexy Tourist Attire

IMG_20130606_094232

So, fate had it that I had to run a quick errand near the Colosseum metro stop the other morning. While waiting for my friend to arrive so I could drop off some things I needed to give him, I sat down in the small circular piazza above the metro stop, and realized I had placed myself at exactly ground zero for a super-mega tour group staging point. Like you know when a cruise unleashes like 200 people and they all divide into color-coded stickered groups of 20? Hashtag #scary. And yet, at the same time, a super fun sort of sociological anthropological experiment in tourist observation. My ethnographic notes for you are thus:

1. Americans love to ask each other “Where are you from?” It ties us together. I witnessed the most brilliant exchange. Two twenty-something young married couples start off chit-chatting, and…

View original post 735 more words

Leave a Reply

