Removing the cotton wool

Another great running blog!

Unsporty Women Can Run

For 14 weeks we concentrated on preparing for the marathon.  As each week went by the training increased both in distance and intensity.  Pauly, Louise and I ate it.  We breathed it.  But most of all we ran through those 14 weeks with a blinkered determination.

During those 14 weeks I was careful of the shoes I wore.  Careful if I had to use a step ladder, jump over a rock, bend to lift something heavy.  Careful.  Thoughtful.  Cautious.  I didn’t want to end up with an injury and not be able to run the marathon.  I even came down steps like a little old lady.

Cotton wool?  I was so virtually wrapped up in it, it’s amazing I could run at all!

This was particularly applied to running fast.  Fast to me is relative.  I run so much faster now than when I first started running five years ago.  My…

View original post 840 more words

Leave a Reply

